Transportation

The primary goal of the Transportation Department at Coast Unified School District is to provide the safest, most efficient and professional transportation service for our students and staff, and our drivers strive to meet this goal.

Before a person can apply for a Special Driver Certificate (school bus license) to drive a school bus, he or she is fingerprinted and must submit to a thorough background investigation conducted by the California Highway Patrol (CHP). The applicant may begin training before the background check is complete, however, he/she may not take any test administered by the CHP until after the interview and background check is complete and the applicant is cleared.

California’s school bus drivers receive more training than the majority of other bus drivers in the nation. Applicants for a Special Driver Certificate must successfully complete a minimum of 20 hours of classroom instruction (covering Federal Regulations, California Vehicle Codes, California Code of Regulations and California Education Codes). They must also successfully complete a minimum of 20 hours of behind-the-wheel training to become completely competent and proficient in driving a school bus, as well as daily pre-trip inspection procedures of the bus. Applicants may not transport students until all training is complete and the applicant has successfully completed written and behind-the-wheel tests administered by the California Highway Patrol. Each year certified school bus drivers must receive at least ten hours of any type of training that is directly related to pupil transportation safety, and in the renewal year (every five years) the driver must successfully complete at least ten hours of classroom instruction (in addition to any other training received during the year). Every five years, the driver must successfully complete written and behind-the-wheel tests administered by the CHP.

Coast Unified School District currently operates two school buses and four vans on daily routes. Our buses travel over 38,000 miles annually and transport an average of 226 students daily. Our vans provide curb-to-curb transportation service for special needs students and travel over 134,000 miles annually transporting an average of 11 students daily. In addition to the regular morning and afternoon routes, the district provides transportation services for various extra-curricular activity and sports trips.

The District currently employs six certified school bus drivers with a total of over 90 combined years of school bus driving experience and one fully certified school bus driver instructor with 20 years of experience as an instructor and 35 years of experience as a school bus driver.

I encourage you to browse the remainder of the Transportation page. There is some useful information pertaining to the bus rules, explanation of the school bus red-flashing light laws and student escorting laws, as well as a comparison chart covering the training requirements for school bus drivers in all 50 states in the U.S. You will also find the Transportation Safety Plan as well as bus stop information.

Should you have any questions regarding transportation, please contact me by telephone at (805) 924-2818 or by email at dadams@coastusd.org.

Don Adams

Director of Maintenance, Operations & Transportation

 

Important Information

2019-20 Student Transportation Information

English                                  Spanish

Bus Schedule

School Bus Danger Zones

School Bus Red Light Laws

Explanation of School Bus Red-Light Laws for the Public

Below is the California Vehicle Code directed at school bus drivers that governs the use of the amber warning lights , the red-flashing lights and the stop signal arm on school buses .

SCHOOL BUS STOPS
LIGHT SYSTEMS AND PROCEDURES

California Vehicle Code Section 22112

a) On approach to a school bus stop where pupils are loading or unloading from a school bus,  the  driver of the bus shall activate an approved flashing amber light warning system, if the  bus is so equipped, beginning 200 feet before the bus stop. The driver shall operate the flashing red signal lights and stop signal arm, as required on the school bus, at all times when the school bus is stopped for the purpose of loading and unloading pupils. The flashing red signal lights, amber warning lights , and stop signal arm system shall not be operated at any place where traffic is controlled by a traffic officer. The school bus flashing red signal lights, amber warning lights, and stop signal arm system shall not be operated at any other time.

b) The driver shall stop to load or unload pupils only at a school bus stop designated for pupils by the school district superintendent or authorized by the superintendent for school activity trips.

c) When a school bus is stopped on a highway or private road for the purpose of loading or unloading pupils, at a location where traffic is not controlled  by a  traffic officer, the  driver shall,  before opening the door , ensure that the flashing red light signal system and stop signal arm are activated, and the it is safe to enter or exit the school bus.

d) When a school bus is stopped on a highway or private road for the purpose of loading or unloading
pupils , at a location where traffic is not controlled by a traffic officer or official traffic control signal, the school bus driver shall do all of the following:

1) Escort all pupils in prekindergarten, kindergarten , or any of grades 1 to 8, inc l usive , who need  to cross the highway or private road upon which the school  bus  is stopped.  The  driver  shall  use an approved hand-held "STOP" sign while escorting all pupils.

2) Require all pupils who need to cross the highway or private road upon which the school bus is stopped to walk in front of the bus as they cross.

3) Ensure that all pupils who need to cross the highway or private road upon which the school bus is stopped have crossed safely , and that all other pupils and pedestrians are a safe distance from the school bus before setting the school bus in motion.

e) Except at a location  where students are loading or unloading  from a school  bus and  must cross a highway or private road upon which the school bus stopped , the school bus driver may not activate the amber warning light system, the flashing red light signal system and stop signal arm at any of the following locations:

1) School bus loading zones on or adjacent to school grounds or during an activity trip, if the school bus is lawfully parked.

2) Where the school bus is disabled due to mechanical breakdown. The driver of a relief bus that arrives at the scene to transport pupils from the disabled school bus shall not activate the amber warning light system, the flashing red light system, and stop signal arm.

3) Where a pupil requires physical assistance from the driver or authorized attendant to board or leave the school bus and providing the assistance extends the length of time the school bus is stopped beyond the time required to load or unload a pupil that does not require physical assistance.

4) Where the roadway surface on which the bus is stopped is partially or completely covered by snow or ice and requiring traffic to stop would pose a safety hazard as determined by the school bus motor carrier.

5) On a state highway with a posted speed limit of 55 miles per hour or higher where the school bus is completely off the main traveled portion of the highway.

6) Any location determined by a school district , with the approval of the Department of the California Highway Patrol, to present a traffic or safety hazard.

f) Notwithstanding subdivisions (a) to (d), inclusive, the Department of the California Highway Patrol may require the activation of an approved flashing amber warning light system, if the school bus is so equipped, or the flashing red light signal system and stop signal arm, as required on the school bus, at any location where the department determines that the activation is necessary for the safety of school pupils loading or unloading from a school bus.

Interpretation and explanation of CVC Section 22112:
What this vehicle code says is that school bus drivers must activate the amber warning lights 200 feet before a school bus stop. So when you see these amber warning lights, be prepared to stop, before passing the front of the bus if you are traveling in the opposite direction , or before passing the rear of the bus if you are traveling in the same direction of the bus. This is your warning that the red flashing lights and stop arm will be activated as soon as the bus arrives at the bus stop. The California Highway Patrol and California Department of Education have instructed bus drivers to activate the red flashing lights and stop signal arm immediately upon stopping at the bus stop. Bus drivers have also been instructed to leave the red flashing lights and stop arm activated the entire time the bus is stopped at the bus stop. The driver is to ensure that all pupils who need to cross the highway or road upon which the school bus is stopped have crossed safely, in front of the bus, and that all other pupils and pedestrians are a safe distance from the school bus before putting the bus in motion. They are then to deactivate the red flashing lights and stop signal arm, activate the left turn signal, and when it is safe to do so, pull into the flow of traffic. This is why you see drivers pulling away from the bus stop immediately after deactivating the red flashing lights and stop arm.

This code also mandates that all pupils, in pre-kindergarten, kindergarten, and in 1st through 8th grades, MUST be escorted across the street that the bus is stopped on, by the bus driver, when boarding or exiting a school bus. All pupils must cross the street in front of the bus (not behind it), between the driver and the bus. And remember, when a driver is escorting pupils across the street, you must remain stopped until the red flashing lights and stop arm are deactivated. By law , you may not proceed when the driver leaves the roadway and returns to the bus if the red lights are still flashing.
 
Below is the California Vehicle Code that governs when a motorist is required to stop for the red­ flashing lights on a school bus.

PASSING SCHOOL BUSES
SCHOOL BUS: MEETING AND PASSING
California Vehicle Code Section 22454

a) The driver of any vehicle, upon meeting or overtaking, from either direction, any school  bus equipped with signs as required in this code, that is stopped for the purpose of loading or unloading  any school children and displays a flashing red light signal and stop signal arm, as defined  in paragraph (4) of subdivision (b) of Section 25257, if equipped  with  a stop signal  arm,  visible from the front or rear, shall bring the vehicle to a stop  immediately  before  passing  the school  bus and shall not proceed past the school bus until the flashing red light signal and  stop signal  arm,  if equipped with a stop signal arm, cease operation .

b) 1) The driver of a vehicle upon a divided highway or multiple-lane highway need not stop upon meeting or passing a school bus that is upon the other roadway.

2) For the purposes of this subdivision, a multiple-lane highway is any highway that has two or more lanes of travel in each direction.

Interpretation and explanation of CVC 22454:
The code above states that under certain circumstances, a driver traveling in the opposite direction of a stopped school bus, is not required to stop for the red-flashing lights and stop signal arm of the school bus. However, please keep in mind that when you are traveling in the same direction as the stopped school bus, you must ALWAYS stop for the red-flashing lights and stop signal arm. Please remember to remain stopped until the red­ flashing lights and stop signal arm are deactivated.

Please see the diagrams below. They will help you to identify multiple-lane and divided highways.

 



 

Transportation Safety Plan

This plan was developed pursuant to California Education Code Section 39831.3(a) and California Vehicle Code Section 22112(a). It is intended to aid school personnel in providing pupils with the necessary information regarding the safe transportation of all pupils.

Please give a copy of this entire packet to all new students. It not only contains the information listed above, it also gives the bus rules and disciplinary procedures that will be followed in the event a pupil does not obey those rules, as well as information on walking to and from school.

California Education Code 39831.5(a)
A copy of this packet shall be kept in the school office at all times and must be made available, upon request, to an officer of the Department of the California Highway Patrol.

Should you have any questions, please feel free to contact me by email at dadams@coastusd.org or by telephone at (805) 924-2818.

Sincerely,

Don Adams,
Director of Maintenance, Operations and Transportation

Safety Plan English        Safety Plan Spanish

California Ed Code 39831.5

California Education Code Section 39831.5
 
(a)    All pupils in prekindergarten, kindergarten, and grades 1 to 12, inclusive, in public or private school, who are transported in a school bus or school pupil activity bus, shall receive instruction in school bus emergency procedures and passenger safety. The county superintendent of schools, superintendent of the school district, or owner / operator of a private school, as applicable, shall ensure that the instruction is provided as follows:

(1)    Upon registration, the parents or guardians of all pupils not previously transported in a school bus or school pupil activity bus and who are in prekindergarten, kindergarten, and grades 1 to 6, inclusive, shall be provided with written information on school bus safety. The information shall include, but not be limited to, all of the following:

(A)    A list of school bus stops near each pupil’s home.
(B)    General rules of conduct at school bus loading zones.
(C)    Red light crossing instructions.
(D)    School bus danger zone.
(E)    Walking to and from school bus stops.

(2)    At least once in each school year, all pupils in prekindergarten, kindergarten, and grades 1 to 8, inclusive, who receive home-to-school transportation shall receive safety instruction that includes, but is not limited to, proper loading and unloading procedures, including escorting by the driver, how to safely cross the street, highway, or private road, instruction on the use of passenger restraint systems, as described in paragraph (3), proper passenger conduct, bus evacuation, and location of emergency equipment. Instruction may also include responsibilities of passengers seated next to an emergency exit. As part of the instruction, pupils shall evacuate the school bus through emergency exit doors.

(3)    Instruction on the use of passenger restraint systems shall include, but not be limited to, all of the following:

(A)    Proper fastening and release of the passenger restraint system.
(B)    Acceptable placement of the passenger restraint systems on pupils.
(C)    Times at which the passenger restraint systems should be fastened and released.
(D)    Acceptable placement of the passenger restraint systems when not in use.

(4)    Prior to departure on a school activity trip, all pupils riding on a school bus or school pupil activity bus shall receive safety instruction that includes, but is not limited to, location of emergency exits, and location and use of emergency equipment. Instruction may also include responsibilities of passengers seated next to an emergency exit.

(b)    The following information shall be documented each time the instruction required by paragraph (2) of subdivision (a) is given:

(1)    Name of school district, county office of education, or private school.
(2)    Name and location of school.
(3)    Date of instruction.
(4)    Names of supervising adults.
(5)    Number of pupils participating.
(6)    Grade levels of pupils.
(7)    Subjects covered in instruction.
(8)    Amount of time taken for instruction.
(9)    Bus driver’s name.
(10)    Bus number.
(11)    Additional remarks.

The information recorded pursuant to this subdivision shall remain on file at the district or county office, or at the school, for one year from the date of the instruction, and shall be subject to inspection by the Department of the California Highway Patrol.

General Rules of Conduct at School Bus Stops

1.    Arrive at the bus stop at least five (5) but not more than ten (10) minutes before the scheduled pick up time.

2.    Get in line and stay in line. Make sure the line is as far away from traffic as possible.

3.    Do NOT play at the bus stop or in the street.

4.    Stay off private property. Do not destroy other people’s property.

5.    Keep your hands and feet to yourself.

6.    No littering. Please take your trash with you.

7.    No yelling or loud conversation.

8.    Do NOT throw any objects at anyone or at any vehicle.

9.    Do NOT walk toward the bus as it approaches the bus stop. Stay in line and wait for the bus driver to tell you to load the bus.

10.    Students must use their regular assigned bus and bus stop. No switching buses and or bus stops unless pre-authorized to do so by parents, the school principal and the transportation department.

ESCORTED CROSSING INSTRUCTION

1.    ALWAYS listen to and follow the bus driver’s instructions.

2.    After exiting the bus, wait at the front corner of the bus. Do NOT attempt to cross the street before being told to do so by the driver.

3.    Watch the bus driver. Do NOT walk behind the driver or behind the bus to cross the street. Always cross in front of the bus, between the bus and the bus driver.

4.    Look both ways (two times) before entering the street. Make sure there are no cars coming.

5.    Always WALK across the street, do not run and make sure you walk straight across, not at an angle.

6.    NEVER run toward the bus once you have gotten across the street. The driver may not see you.

7.    Do NOT play in or around the street.

8.    Go straight home. Do not stop to play at a friend’s house until you check in at home.

Walking to and home from school

To School:

1.    Leave early enough to arrive at school at least five (5) but not more than thirty (30) minutes before class starts.

2.    Go directly to school. Do not stop to play.

3.    Stay off private property. Use the sidewalks or stay as close to yards as possible if there are no sidewalks.

4.    Stay out of the street. Cross streets only at crosswalks or intersections.

5.    Always look both ways (two times) before crossing the street.

6.    Do not talk to strangers.

7.    Do not accept rides from anyone unless you know the person and you have your parent’s permission to ride with that person.

8.    Always report suspicious persons to your teacher or any adult as soon as you get to school.

Home From School:

1.    Go directly home. Do not stop to play.

2.    Stay off private property. Use the sidewalks or stay as close to yards as possible if there are no sidewalks.

3.    Stay out of the street. Cross streets only at crosswalks or intersections.

4.    Always look both ways (two times) before crossing the street.

5.    Do not talk to strangers.

6.    Do not accept rides from anyone unless you know the person and you have your parent’s permission to ride with that person.

7.    Always report suspicious persons to your parents or another adult as soon as you get home.
 

Edward Lanni School Bus Safety Plan of 1997

This act adds section 39831.3 to the California Education Code and amends Section 22112 of the California Vehicle Code. Both sections are defined below.

California Education Code Section
39831.3. (a) The county superintendent of schools, the superintendent of a school district, or the owner or operator of a private school that provides transportation to or from a school or school activity shall prepare a transportation safety plan containing procedures for school personnel to follow to ensure the safe transportation of pupils.  The plan shall be revised as required. The plan shall address all of the following:

(1)     Determining if pupils require escort pursuant to paragraph (3) of subdivision (c) of Section 22112 of the Vehicle Code.

(2)     (A) Procedures for all pupils in pre-kindergarten, kindergarten, and grades 1 to 8, inclusive, to follow as                they board and exit the appropriate school bus at each pupil's school bus stop.

(B) Nothing in this paragraph requires a county superintendent of schools, the superintendent of a school district, or the owner or operator of a private school that provides transportation to or from a school or school activity, to use the services of an onboard school bus monitor, in addition to the driver, to carry out the purposes of this paragraph.

(3)     Boarding and exiting a school bus at a school or other trip destination

(b) A current copy of a plan prepared pursuant to subdivision (a) shall be retained by each school subject to the plan and made available, upon request, to an officer of the Department of the California Highway Patrol.

California Vehicle Code Section
22112(a) On approach to a school bus stop where pupils are loading or unloading from a school bus, the driver of the school bus shall activate an approved flashing amber light warning system, if the school bus is so equipped, beginning 200 feet before the school bus stop. The driver shall operate the flashing red signal lights and stop signal arm, as required on the school bus, at all times when the school bus is stopped for the purpose of loading or unloading pupils. The flashing red signal lights, amber warning lights, and stop signal arm system shall not be operated at any place where traffic is controlled by a traffic officer. The school bus flashing red signal lights, amber warning lights, and stop signal arm system shall not be operated at any other time.

(b) The driver shall stop to load or unload pupils only at a school bus stop designated for pupils by the school district superintendent or authorized by the superintendent for school activity trips.

(c) When a school bus is stopped on a highway or private road for the purpose of loading or unloading pupils, at a location where traffic is not controlled by a traffic officer, the driver shall do all of the following:

(1) Check for approaching traffic in all directions and activate the flashing red light signal system and stop signal arm, as defined in Section 25257, if equipped with a stop signal arm.

(2) Before opening the door, ensure that the flashing red signal lights and stop signal arm are activated, and that it is safe to exit the school bus.

(d) When a school bus is stopped on a highway or private road for the purpose of loading or unloading pupils, at a location where traffic is not controlled by a traffic officer or official traffic control signal, the driver shall do all of the following: 

(1) Escort all pupils in prekindergarten, kindergarten, or any of grades 1 to 8, inclusive, who need to cross the highway or private road. The driver shall use an approved hand-held "STOP" sign while escorting all pupils. 

(2) Require all pupils to walk in front of the bus as they cross the highway or private road. 

(3) Ensure that all pupils who need to cross the highway or private road have crossed safely, and that all other unloaded pupils and pedestrians are a safe distance from the school bus and it is safe to move before setting the school bus in motion. 

(e) Except at a location where pupils are loading or unloading from a school bus and must cross a highway or private road upon which the school bus is stopped, the flashing red signal lights and stop signal arm requirements imposed by this section do not apply to a school bus driver at any of the following locations:

(1)    School bus loading zones on or adjacent to school grounds or during an activity trip, if the school bus is lawfully parked.

(2)    Where the school bus is disabled due to mechanical breakdown.

(3)    Where pupils require assistance to board or leave the school bus.

(4)    Where the roadway surface on which the bus is stopped is partially or completely covered by snow or ice and requiring traffic to stop would pose a safety hazard.

(5)    On a state highway with a posted speed limit of 55 miles per hour or higher where the
school bus is off the main traveled portion of the highway.

(6)    Any location determined by a school district, with the approval of the Department of the California Highway Patrol, to present a traffic or safety hazard.

(f) Notwithstanding subdivisions (a) to (d), inclusive, the Department of the California Highway Patrol may require the activation of an approved flashing amber light warning system, if the school bus is so equipped, or the flashing red signal light and stop signal arm, as required on the school bus, at any location where the department determines that the activation is necessary for the safety of school pupils loading or unloading from a school bus.

Designated “Escorted Crossing” Locations

All bus stops within the Coast Unified School District have been designated as “Escorted Crossings”. This means that all pupils who enter or exit the school bus, and must cross the street that the bus is stopped on, must be escorted across the highway, street or private road by the school bus driver, and must cross the street in front of the bus, not behind it. All students who fail to abide by this law will be issued a Bus Ticket by the bus driver. Continued refusal to obey the law may result in the suspension and or revocation of school bus riding privileges for the pupil. Although the law states that all students in pre-kindergarten, kindergarten, and grades 1 to 8 inclusive, must be escorted across the street by the bus driver, it is Coast Unified School District policy to escort ALL students, including high school students.

PLEASE NOTE: 
Students must use the assigned bus and designated bus stop for their area. Students are not permitted to ride a different bus or get on/off the bus at a different location without a note signed by the parent or legal guardian and approved by school office personnel. 

Loading Procedures at Designated Bus Stops

1.    Stay in line when the bus is approaching the stop. Do NOT walk (or run) toward the bus until the bus door opens and the driver tells you to board. Be sure to make eye contact with the driver. 

2.    Do not push or shove other pupils while boarding.

3.    Do not crowd other pupils who are in line, wait your turn.

4.    Board the bus in a single file line.

5.    Always keep one hand free of books and other articles so you may hold on to the handrail when boarding. This will keep you from falling if you trip while going up the steps.

6.    Be very careful when going up the steps, especially if the steps or your shoes are wet. The steps may be very slippery when wet.

7.    Find a seat and sit down as soon as possible. Move toward the window side of the seat so another person may sit next to you.

8.    Always listen to and obey the bus driver’s instructions.

Unloading Procedures at Designated Bus Stops

1.    Stay in your seat until the bus comes to a complete stop and the door opens. The bus driver will tell you when you may exit the bus.

2.    Be sure you take all of your belongings with you.

3.    Hold on to the handrail while going down the steps. The steps may be slippery.

4.    Do not push, shove or trip other pupils.

5.    Do not try to crowd. Wait your turn.

6.    As soon as you step off the bus, get as far away from the bus as possible. Do not stay at the bus stop to talk or play with your friends.

7.    NEVER touch the side or back of the bus as it leaves the stop.

8.    Do NOT try to retrieve anything that falls near or under the bus. The driver may not be able to see you. Always tell the bus driver and he or she will get it for you.

9.    Do not cross the street unless you are at a “Designated Escorted Crossing” bus stop. When crossing the street after getting off the bus, pupils must (by California state law) be escorted by the bus driver.

10.    Always listen to and obey the driver’s instructions.

Loading Procedures at Schools and Other Locations

1.    Stay out of the parking lot and bus-loading zone. NEVER run between the buses into the parking lot.

2.    Stay in line until instructed by the bus driver or teacher to load the bus.

3.    Walk to the bus in a single file line.

4.    Do not crawl under the bus to pick up articles you may have dropped. Tell the bus driver. He or she will get it for you. 

5.    Board the bus in an orderly fashion. Do not push, shove, trip or crowd other pupils.

6.    Hold on to the handrail at all times while boarding the bus. Steps may be slippery when wet.

7.    Find a seat and sit down as soon as possible. Move to the window side of the seat so another student may sit next to you. No saving seats.

8.    Listen to and follow all of the bus driver’s instructions.

Unloading Procedures at Schools and Other Locations

1.    Remain seated until the bus comes to a complete stop and the driver tells you to unload.

2.    Be sure you take all of your belongings with you.

3.    Unload the bus in an orderly fashion. Stay in a single file line.

4.    Hold on to the handrail when going down the steps. The steps may be slippery.

5.    As soon as you step off the bus, get as far away from the bus as possible. Do not play around or near the bus.

6.    Stay away from the parking lot and bus-loading zone.

7.    Never crawl or reach under the bus to pick up dropped articles. Tell the bus driver. He or she will get it for you.

8.    Never toward the bus after you have walked away. If you leave an article on the bus, the driver will bring it to your school.

9.    Do NOT touch the side or back of the bus as it pulls away from the loading zone.

Special Needs Transportation

Dear Parents:

The Transportation Department at Coast Unified School District has prepared this section of the Transportation Safety Plan to acquaint you with the rules covering your child's school transportation. We need your assistance and cooperation to maintain safe, timely, and reliable service. Your familiarization with and adherence to these rules will aid considerably in transporting your child with the maximum service, courtesy and safety. Please review the entire contents of this section and keep it for future reference.

District Superintendent Scott Smith 805-927-6121
Director of Maintenance, Operations & Transportation Don Adams 805-924-2818
MOT Clerk (8:00 am - 1:00 pm) Stacey Ferguson 805-927-8567
MOT Clerk (12:00 pm - 4:00 pm) Joey Davis 805-924-2884

 

Transportation Office Hours                     6:00 A.M. – 4:00 P.M.

Student Illness
Please notify the Transportation Office when you do not intend to send your child to school. Advance notice of this is extremely helpful and in many cases saves Transportation unnecessary miles. The Transportation Office may be contacted by phone at one of the numbers listed above.

Please be aware that if your child does not ride the bus/van for three (3) consecutive school days, and you have not notified our office in advance, he or she will be removed from the route and you will need to contact the Transportation Office to have him or her re-assigned to the route.

Route Changes
Parents should be prepared for CHANGES in drivers, buses, routes, and time of pick-up throughout the school year as a result of additions or withdrawals of students in the program. Overall route travel time will vary from route to route dependent upon class times and student pick-up locations. After an initial adjustment period at the beginning of school or upon reorganization of routes, the pick-up and delivery time should be consistent within approximately 15 minutes. Buses may run late during days of unfavorable weather conditions.

Parent Request for Bus Stop Changes
Any request for changes in pick-up and or drop locations by the parent or legal guardian MUST be in writing and approved by the Support Services Office. After approval, that office will forward the request to the Transportation Office. Please make such requests at least ONE WEEK in advance so your child’s transportation will not be interrupted. Do NOT call the Transportation Office to make such requests as we cannot make changes that are not in writing. 

Bus Stop Locations
If your child does not require curb-to-curb service, please refer to the list of bus stops for the school attendance area in which you live. If your child goes to a school not serviced by transportation from your area, your child may be picked up and dropped on a corner close to your residence. Decisions will be made on an individual basis by the Support Services and Transportation Offices together.

Parking for Loading / Unloading
Drivers are instructed to load / unload students at the curb or the side of the street and are not permitted to stop in private driveways.

Medications
MEDICATIONS shall NOT be carried on the bus/van. Parents must give all medications directly to school personnel. There are few exceptions to this rule, such as, but not limited to, Epi-Pens for severe allergic reactions to bee stings, wasp stings, insect bites, food allergies, etc. If your child has severe allergies that could cause him / her to have a severe allergic reaction that would require an immediate dose of epinephrine, please notify Support Services and supply the bus driver(s) with an Epi-Pen in case of an emergency.

Pick Up Procedure
All children must be ready for pick-up at the scheduled time. These times may vary as much as five to fifteen (5 - 15) minutes before or after the scheduled time. It is encouraged that children capable of WAITING OUTSIDE for the bus/van do so. Many children and classes are affected by bus schedules; therefore, drivers will wait one (1) minute after arriving for the pick-up then proceed on their route. Parents are responsible for getting their child TO THE BUS/VAN and drivers are responsible from that point on. Drivers will NOT go to your door to pick up children. 

Bus Stop Drop Procedure
Children capable of being left unattended will be dropped at their assigned bus stop. 

Drop At Home Procedure
There MUST be a parent or other responsible adult (at least 18 years old) at home (and visible to the driver) to receive students who require curb-to-curb transportation service.

PARENTS are responsible for children needing assistance from the bus/van into the home. Children will NOT be dropped at any location other than the home address, unless a WRITTEN REQUEST is submitted and approved. If your child would like to bring a friend home, the request MUST be in writing by the parents of both students and submitted to the School Principal for approval.

Unable To Deliver Student
The procedure to be followed in the event that a responsible adult is NOT at home will be as follows:

1.     Driver is to notify the dispatch office of the situation.

2.     After completion of the route, the driver will make a second attempt to drop the student at home. If there is still no adult to receive him/her, he/she will be taken to the Transportation Office where the parent will be required to pick up the child.

3.     If the child has not been picked up by the close of Transportation Office hours, an Administrator from the District Office will make the decision as to calling a local law enforcement agency which will hold the child until parents are contacted.

CONTINUED PROBLEMS WITH THE DELIVERY OF YOUR CHILD MAY RESULT IN SUSPENSION OF TRANSPORTATION SERVICES (until other arrangements can be made).

The Coast Unified School District would like to thank you in advance for your understanding and cooperation in these matters.
 

Bus Rules and Regulations

ALL PASSENGERS MUST:

  • Arrive at the bus stop at least five (5) minutes early
  • Follow the bus driver’s instructions at all times
  • Remain seated at all times while the bus is in motion and properly use Passenger Restraint Systems*
  • Keep all body parts inside the bus
  • Keep personal articles inside backpack or purse
  • Refrain from unnecessary noise (whistling, singing, loud conversation, yelling, screaming, etc.)
  • Be courteous to all other passengers
  • Notify the bus driver if you need to cross the street and do so only while being escorted by the driver

PASSENGERS MAY NOT:

  • Fight with or threaten other students
  • Carry hazardous articles or weapons (including pens, pick combs and sharpened pencils)
  • Use profanity
  • Touch or play with the bus controls or sit in the driver's seat
  • Chew gum, eat, or drink on the bus
  • Use personal articles on the bus (hair spray, cologne, perfume, body deodorant, etc.)
  • Bring pets, reptiles or insects of any kind onto the bus
  • Change seats unless authorized to do so by the bus driver
  • Cross the street without being escorted by the bus driver or cross the street behind the bus

Authority of the Driver

CALIFORNIA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE, TITLE 5 Section 14263. "Pupils transported in a school bus shall be under the authority of, and responsible directly to, the driver of the bus. The driver shall be held responsible for the orderly conduct of the pupils while they are on the bus or being escorted across the street, highway or road. Continued disorderly conduct or persistent refusal to submit to the authority of the bus driver shall be sufficient reason for a pupil to be denied transportation. A bus driver shall not require any pupil to leave the bus enroute between home and school or other destinations”.

Discipline Procedures
Failure to follow the rules listed above will result in a "SCHOOL BUS INCIDENT REPORT TO PARENTS" (bus ticket) being written by the bus driver and given to the School Principal/designee, within two school days, for necessary action to be taken. After evaluation of the child's misconduct, the Principal/designee will take the appropriate action using the guidelines indicated below.

  • First Ticket: Warning! Parent contact – Possible bus suspension **
  • Second Ticket: Parent Contact – Possible Bus Suspension (1-3 days) **
  • Third Ticket: Parent Contact – Possible Bus Suspension (3-5 days) **
  • Fourth Ticket: Conference with Principal/Driver/Parent – Bus suspension (5-10 days) **
  • Fifth Ticket: Parent Contact – One of the following actions will be taken:
  1.  Bus suspension for a minimum of 20 days
  2.  Bus Expulsion for the remainder of the school year
  3.  School suspension (in addition to a minimum of 20 days’ bus suspension)

* Passenger Restraint System: Lap/Shoulder Belt System Seat Belts) on buses so equipped.

** Minimum action will be taken by the School Administrator / Designee. Additional action MAY be taken, at the Administrator’s / Designee’s discretion, up to, and including, permanent expulsion from the bus for the remainder of the school year, dependent upon the severity of the infraction, and, or, the age of the student. Middle School and High School students will be held to a higher standard of conduct than younger students, which will result in stronger disciplinary actions.

Bus tickets must be signed by the students’ parent/legal guardian and returned to the bus driver. Failure to return the signed copy of the bus ticket will be considered an act of defiance, which will result in an additional bus ticket being issued and regarded as a separate incident. 

For the safety of all students, any student who shows up at a bus stop in the morning will be provided transportation to school. Under no circumstances will a student be denied transportation by the bus driver and left unattended at the bus stop. If a student has been suspended from transportation (by school administration) and tries to board the bus at the school to go home, that student will be removed from the bus by school staff and taken to the office. The parent will be contacted and will be required to pick the student up from school. In no event, will the student be permitted to walk to school, or home from school, unless authorized (in writing) to do so by the parent/guardian. Transportation will ONLY be denied after the Principal/designee has determined the appropriate length of suspension required, and then ONLY after the parent/guardian has been notified, either by mail, phone call, or both. Bus drivers do NOT have the authority to deny transportation to students.

A student who rides ANY CUSD bus while on a transportation suspension, will receive an additional bus ticket, which will result in a minimum of five (5) additional days of transportation suspension.

Note: Suspension or exclusion from bus service does not excuse a student from school. Parents/guardians are responsible for getting the student to and home from school. Any absences due to a transportation suspension will be considered unexcused and the student may be considered truant.

Availability of Transportation
Students must provide a note signed by a parent/legal guardian and school office staff for any of the following reasons: 1) When a student who usually does not ride the bus is going to ride the bus for a specific reason; 2) When a student is going to ride a bus other than his/her regular assigned bus or if he/she is going to use a bus stop other than his/her regular assigned bus stop.

Activity Trip Rules
All bus rules previously listed apply on activity trips as they do for home-to-school and school-to-home transportation. Drivers have been instructed to take the bus back to the school in the event the students are too noisy or uncontrollable. All students must stay with their group at the trip destination. There must ALWAYS be an adult present (other than the bus driver) to maintain control of the pupils while they are on the bus. No pupils are permitted to enter or stay on the bus while at the activity trip destination.

Any pupil who continues to cause problems while on the bus, or refuses to submit to the authority of the bus driver, will NOT be permitted to use the transportation services of Coast Unified School District on any future activity trips for the remainder of the school year.

Safety Instruction
California Education Code Section 39831.5(a) (4):
“Prior to departure on a school activity trip, all pupils riding on a school bus or school pupil activity bus shall receive safety instruction that includes, but is not limited to, location of emergency exits, and location and use of emergency equipment. Instruction may also include responsibilities of passengers seated next to an emergency exit”.  This means before EVERY activity trip, the information described by this section MUST be given to all passengers by the school bus or school pupil activity bus driver.

Personal Articles
For safety reasons: large toys, glass objects, insects, animals, plastic bags, knives, or any other articles which may cause an injury, will NOT be allowed on the bus. The use of personal articles such as hairspray and perfumes are prohibited on a school bus. CUSD assumes NO liability for LOST ITEMS. However, every effort will be made to locate the item. Please put your child's name on all items that could be easily lost. You may call Transportation (927-8567) concerning lost items.

Passengers

All passengers are under the authority of, and responsible directly to, the driver of the bus. 
NO unauthorized persons are permitted to ride a school bus. When going on activity trips, it is the responsibility of the adult in charge of the students (teacher / coach) to obtain permission slips from all pupils and to make sure there are no “friends” riding along. All passengers must be students enrolled in Coast Unified School District, teachers of the district or chaperones approved by the teacher. Due to SISC (insurance) Policies, no parents (except chaperones on trips), siblings, or volunteers may ride the bus. 

Standees

All pupils must remain seated, and use the Passenger Restraint System* (if the bus is so equipped), at all times while the bus is in motion. Failure of students to use the Passenger Restraint System* (when so equipped) will result in a bus ticket. Parents / teachers may change seats, only if requested to do so by the driver, for the correction of disciplinary problems. Adults are not permitted to walk around while the bus is in motion unless authorized by the driver. Students are not permitted to change seats unless authorized by the driver, and never while the bus is in motion.

Audio/Video Recording Equipment

All CUSD school buses are equipped with audio and video recording devices. The microphones and cameras are situated so as to record all seats and the entrance door. No passenger inside, or any person standing in close proximity to any CUSD bus should expect any degree of privacy, as all conversations and actions are being recorded and may be reviewed by district administration/management at any time. These recordings may be used in disciplinary proceedings and, or, prosecution of unlawful acts.

No Child Left Behind
Students falling asleep en-route on a school bus is a common occurrence. Children being left on a school bus unattended may lead to injury or death. It is the responsibility of the bus driver to methodically check each seat and the floor around each seat, from the front of the bus to the back of the bus, after every route and trip to insure that no students remain on the bus. 
 

Nationwide Comparison of Bus Driver Training

 

 

 

STATE

CLASSROOM

(Hours)

Original / Pre-service

 

BEHIND THE WHEEL (Hours)  (B-T-W)

 

TOTAL COMBINED HOURS REQUIRED

 

RENEWAL TRAINING

IN-SERVICE (Hours)

Alabama

 

12

4 (Before enrollment in the S.B. Driver Certificate Class)

16

4 Annually:

Recertification Class

Alaska

10 (minimum)

Unknown

10 (minimum)

Unknown

Arizona

14

20

34

6 ½ Classroom (Every 24 months)

Arkansas

Unknown

24

24 (minimum)

3 Annually: In-service

California

 

20 (minimum)

20 (minimum)

40 (minimum)

10 Annually: In-service

10 Classroom Inst. In the renewal year (every 5 years)

Colorado

 

Hours not specified; New operators must be provided with a pre-service training program that includes training and written tests.

6: & CDE Written Test & B-T-W Performance Test Annually

Connecticut

5

5

10

6 Annually

Delaware

12

6 (at least 2 hrs with students)

18

Unknown

Florida

20 (Minimum)

8 (minimum)

40 *See below

8 Annually (In-service)

* Florida requires a total of 40 hours of preservice training: A minimum of 20 hours of classroom and a minimum of 8 hrs of B-T-W training. Additional training where needed to bring the total to 40. *

Georgia

12

12

24

Drivers should be evaluated annually

Hawaii

 

Number of hours not specified. Must receive instruction on rules and laws and must satisfactorily operate a bus (under supervision) on a regular bus route.

8 Annually

Idaho

 

Classroom and B-T-W training vary from district to district. One district showed 40-60 hrs and one showed 60-100 hrs.

40 (minimum)

10 Annually: In-service

Illinois

Initial Classroom Course

Sufficient Training

Unknown (Hours not specified)

2 Annually: Refresher Course

Indiana

 

20

12 (4 observing a certified driver; 8 BTW Training)

32

Annual safety meeting: Hours not specified

Iowa

12 + 3 (current yr training class)

Unknown

15

3 Annual Training Class

Kansas

 

Unknown hours; must complete a Vehicle Accident Prevention Course

12 (6 without students, the remaining 6 can be with students)

Unknown

Accident Prevention Course every 3 years, or attend annual workshops

Kentucky

 

Unknown Number of hours: New drivers are to complete a Training Course and three driver review, evaluation, and instruction components

8 Annually: Training Update

Louisiana

30

10

40

8 Biannually: In-service

 

 

STATE

CLASSROOM

(HOURS)

Original / Pre-service

 

BEHIND THE WHEEL (Hours)  (B-T-W)

 

TOTAL COMBINED HOURS REQUIRED

 

RENEWAL TRAINING

IN-SERVICE (Hours)

Maine

 

Maine requires a physical, background check and the required licenses (issued by the Bureau of Motor Vehicles) to drive a school bus. There are no Original or annual training requirements for school bus drivers. However, they are in the process of adopting new regulations that would require specific training to drive a school bus.

Maryland

6 (Minimum)

9 (Minimum)

15 (Minimum)

6 Annually: In-service

Massachusetts

16

20

36

8 Annually: In-service

Michigan

 

Hours not stated: Successful completion of the Beginning School Bus Driver Training Program

6 Biannually: Supervisory Continuing Education

Minnesota

 

Hours not stated: Drivers must demonstrate sufficient driving skills and knowledge to transport students in a safe and legal manner. Annual training by employer required.

Mississippi

 

Hours not stated. Must receive SDE bus driver certification during a one-day training course which includes classroom instruction, agility testing and behind-the-wheel driving.

2 Annually: In-service

Missouri

 

Hours not stated: Comprehensive school bus driver training program for both pre-service and in-service instruction which includes classroom and behind the wheel instruction.

8 Annually

Montana

Hours Not Stated: Completion of a basic course from an authorized instructor.

Unknown

Nebraska

10

2 Training & Evaluation

12

2 Every four years:

Must pass DMV test annually

Nevada

Hours Not stated

40

40 + Classroom Instruction

10 Annually: In-service

New Hampshire

10

Hours not stated

10 + B-T-W Pre-service training

8 Annually: In-service

New Jersey

Unknown

Unknown

Unknown

Unknown

 

 

 

New Mexico

 

 

 

8 Classroom

6 (+ 6 observing a driver on a regular route or a trainee driving under a certified trainer’s supervision)

 

20 +

Additional Training Required Within 60 days of employment: 8 hrs CPR/First Aid, and 8 hrs defensive driving course

36 Hours Total

16 Annually: In-service

 

New York

 

2 Hours Pre-Service Training: Within one year must receive the Basic Course of Instruction for School Bus Drivers. At least 2 additional hours for drivers exclusively transporting pupils with disabilities.

Unknown

North Carolina

3-Day Instruction Course

Hours Not Stated

Unknown

Unknown

 

North Dakota

Hours not stated: Adequate Instruction required: DD4 Workshop required within 1 year of employment.

Workshops Annually and DD4 Workshop every 5 years

Ohio

15 (minimum)

12 (minimum)

27 (minimum)

4 Annually: 9 Renewal (every 6 yrs)

 

 

STATE

CLASSROOM

(Hours)

Original / Pre-service

 

BEHIND THE WHEEL (Hours)  (B-T-W)

 

TOTAL COMBINED HOURS REQUIRED

 

RENEWAL TRAINING

IN-SERVICE (Hours)

Oklahoma

24

Unknown

24

4 Annually

Oregon

Unknown (Core Course)

15 (minimum)

15 (+ Core Course)

8 Annually: Inservice

 

Pennsylvania

 

 

14

 

6

 

20

10 Refresher every four years

(7 Classroom: 3 In-Bus Instruction)

Rhode Island

 

10

 

Unknown

10 (Must pass driving test and Pre-Trip Inspection)

 

Unknown

South Carolina

20

5 (2 driving; 3 observing)

25

10 Annually: Inservice

South Dakota

2 (minimum)

2 (minimum)

4 (minimum)

4 Annually: Classroom and or B-T-W

Tennessee

Unknown

Unknown

Unknown

4 Annually

Texas

20 Certification Course

Unknown

20 (minimum)

8 Every three years: Re-certification

Utah

Unknown

Unknown

Unknown

4 Classes & 2 B-T-W: Annually

 

Vermont

 

Hours not stated: Must attend a School Bus Driver Training Clinic

S.B. Driver Clinic or Defensive Driving Course

 

Virginia

11-17 Pre-Service

(Time Recommendation for six units)

Unknown (Six Units)

Unknown

4 Annually

Washington

Hours not stated: Must attend a School Bus Driver Training Course

Annual Inservice Training Course

West Virginia

30

6

36

12 Annually: Professional Development

Wisconsin

Unknown

Unknown

Unknown

Unknown

Wyoming

Unknown

Unknown

Unknown

Unknown

The information in this chart was obtained through various publications found on the internet and through e-mails, and is current as of September, 2009. All information may not be accurate, however, every effort was made to ensure its’ accuracy. This chart is for comparison purposes only and should not be used to determine the actual training requirements to obtain or retain a license or certificate to operate a school bus. Please check with your local authority, agency, or school district to receive complete and accurate information for your state of residency.